Members

Members & Permissions

Quickstart

  1. Navigate to People > Members.
  2. Click the member you would like to edit.
  3. From the tabs on the right, click Permissions.
  4. Set the login details. Add the permissions you would like the new member to have on your site.
  5. Click Save.

Set Member Permissions

With Member permissions, you can provide your team members with customized levels of access to your content.

Some quick definitions:

  • Backend: is the Ekklesia 360 content management system (CMS). Depending the product, this may mean my.ekklesia360.com or other systems.
  • Frontend: is the live website, which you manage the content of using the CMS.

There are 3 check boxes within the Set Login Details section.

1. Allow login to site

  • This controls whether the user can log in to the frontend site, leave comments, RSVP, or make purchases.
  • If a user creates their own account via the front end site, this will automatically be checked and they will be able to log in. New users created in the backend will not be able to log in by default.
  • Users who have the ability to log into the backend (Ekklesia) will always have the ability to log into the frontend.

2. Allow login to backend

  • This controls whether the user can log in to the Ekklesia 360 backend.
  • If the user is able to log in based on rights at other sites, this will control whether they can switch to the current site when logged in. Checking this will automatically allow users to log into the frontend site.

3. User is a Site Administrator

  • A Site Adminitrator has full access to the frontend and backend. No "Rules" will affect a Administrative User.
  • When adding a Site Admin, check all three of the "Login Details" boxes.

Note: A site administrator will have access to all modules visible to the site, regardless of rules configured.

Member Rules

Manage Rule Templates

Site admins can create a series of rules templates, which they can then have available to apply to other users when setting up their rules. To create a rule template, click the “Manage rule templates” link to slide out the rule template manager. When you have the current set of rules set the way you desire, give the template a name and click save. This template will now be available when you are editing other users.

Editing Rules

Editing rules follows the basic pattern of MODULE / GROUP / PERMISSION:

  • Module: Select the module the rule should apply to. You can also select “ALL MODULES” to create a rule that applies to all modules across the system.
  • Group: Select the group this user can create content for. You can also select “ALL GROUPS” to create a rule that allows the user to create content for any group. Note that there is a special “Site Group” which is a part of all sites. This is any piece of content’s “default group”. The site group would be the place to publish content that you are comfortable with any web visitor seeing, and which isn’t particular to any group. All content not otherwise published to a group is published to the site group.
  • Permission: Select the sort of permission this user should have. Read means that the user can see that module in the backed, and can view content, but cannot create or edit content. Write means that the user has full permission to create, edit, publish and delete content. None can be used to deny a permission implicit in another rule.

Profile

If your site utilizes the Members Module or Social Networking, information completed for this tab will be displayed on your site.

Groups

Shows you what groups that you are part of. All users are associated with "Site Group" by default. You can add or remove yourself from groups from this interface.

Removing Members

When deleting a member, the member must first be demoted from Site Administrator status.


Article Rating
Was this article helpful?*

Additional Article Feedback

See more in Members →